. © INRA

Citizen Science in France

The Ministry of Education, Higher Education and Research entrusted François Houllier, President of INRA and of AllEnvi, with a mission on citizen science, for which researchers and citizens work together. A report which drew on responses from interviews with 150 individuals and the 600 internet users who participated in the online consultation was submitted to Najat Vallaud-Belkacem and Thierry Mandon on 4 February 2016.

 

Cooperation between scientists and citizens and between laboratories, amateurs and associations is becoming increasingly widespread and diverse. The field of citizen science is fostered by scientific advancement, interest in studied objects and phenomena, the desire of various stakeholders to participate and successful experiences, and is further stimulated by the potential that digital technology offers. 

Number of results per page

Submission of the report

 
 
Published on 02/05/2016

On 4 February 2016, François Houllier, President of INRA and of the French national alliance for research on the environment (AllEnvi), submitted the report on Citizen Science in France to Najat Vallaud-Belkacem, Minister of Education, Higher Education and Research, and Thierry Mandon, Minister of State for Higher Education and Research. The report, which was commissioned by the Ministry in February 2015, drew on responses from interviews with 150 individuals and the 600 internet users who p...

The online survey has now closed

 
 
Published on 08/28/2015

 

The public consultation conducted as part of the Citizen Science mission closed on 10 October 2015.

 

Some 188 respondents answered the entire survey, and another 608 answered at least some of the questions. Papers submitted by stakeholders are available here.

 

A selection of proposals from the final report submitted in February 2016 is accessible on this blog. A summary of responses is also available in the report appendices.

      

   

 

Background

   

Citizen science refers to research...

A recap of Citizen Science Day

 
 
Published on 08/28/2015

Before submitting the final report on developing citizen science in February 2016, François Houllier wanted a forum for exchange between all stakeholders to be part of the process. Citizen Science Day was held on 30 July 2015 in Marciac in southwestern France with support from the Mission Agrobiosciences (MAA) to gather input from various actors and discuss research that brings scientists and citizens together. 

  

A day for open discussion with a three-part focus

 

1. A review of current thinki...

. © Inra

Mission Sciences participatives

Les ministres en charge de l’Education nationale, de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche ont confié à François Houllier, PDG de l’Inra et Président d’AllEnvi, une mission sur les sciences participatives, qui associent les citoyens aux chercheurs. Alimenté par des rencontres avec plus de 150 personnes et l'analyse des contributions de 600 internautes, un rapport a été remis à Najat Vallaud-Belkacem et à Thierry Mandon le 4 février 2016.

 

Les collaborations entre scientifiques et citoyens, entre laboratoires, amateurs et associations, se développement et se diversifient. Portées par l’avancée propre des sciences, par l’intérêt des objets et phénomènes étudiés, par la volonté d’agir des acteurs variés et par des expériences réussies, elles sont aussi stimulées par le potentiel offert par le numérique. 

Nombre de résultats par page

Remise du rapport le 4 février 2016

 
 
Publié le 05/02/2016

Le 4 février 2016, François Houllier, Président-Directeur général de l’Inra et Président d’AllEnvi, a remis à Najat Vallaud-Belkacem, ministre de l’Éducation Nationale, de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche et à Thierry Mandon, secrétaire d’État à l'Enseignement supérieur et à la Recherche, le rapport Les sciences participatives en France qui lui avait été confié intuitu personae en février 2015. Durant une année de mission, 150 personnes ont été inter...

Clôture de l'enquête en ligne

 
 
Publié le 28/08/2015

 

La consultation menée dans le cadre de la Mission Sciences participatives s'est terminée le 10/10/2015.

 

Vous avec été 188 à répondre à l'ensemble du questionnaire, et 608 à le faire partiellement. Les cahiers d'acteurs qui nous sont parvenus sont accessibles en cliquant ici.

 

Vous retrouverez une sélection de propositions dans le rapport rendu en février 2016 et accessible sur ce blog. Une synthèse des réponses est également proposée en annexe. 

 

   

Une enquête dans...

Revivez la journée Sciences participatives...

 
 
Publié le 28/08/2015

Avant de rendre son rapport sur le développement des sciences participatives en février 2016, François Houllier a souhaité comme point d’étape une journée d’échanges ouverte à tous. Elle s’est déroulée le 30 juillet 2015 à Marciac (Gers) avec l’appui de la Mission Agrobiosciences, permettant ainsi de recueillir des témoignages d’acteurs variés et de discuter de ces recherches qui associent chercheurs et citoyens. 

  

Une journée et des échanges ouverts à tous, en trois...